Chapel of Panagia of Finikia

 aero fd 1 035  A few kilometers outside of Messolongi, on the road to Etoliko one can see the church of Panagia of Finikia. The chapel, built in 1804, is an island within the lagoon waters.

   The church stands proudly among the salt mines (Alykes) and perfectly integrates with the landscape, transforming it beyond a pilgrimage destination to a unique attraction that charms every visitor with its picturesque character.

   Finikia was also the favorite destination of Lord Byron, he went there to relax, during his stay at Messolonghi.


A little town that somehow combines everything. Idyllic spots for walks in nature for the romantics and nature lovers, delicious traditional cuisine for the gourmets, major museums and attractions for tradition and history lovers.So now let's travel, to this small “Alonaki”…

Γραφείο τουριστικής ανάπτυξης
Εμποροβιομηχανικού Συλλόγου Μεσολογγίου


Commerce and Industry Association of Messolonghi
Tourism development agency
  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  +30 26310 25564
  +30 26310 25564
  Stournara str 5