The monastery was destroyed by the troops of Ibrahim and Kioutachis and was rebuilt in 1836 by Archimandrite Ioannikios Aggeletos. In 1973, it was renovated with funds from the Metropolis of Etoloakarnania.
It is a picturesque chapel that has been declared a historical monument. The Monastery of Agios Simeon celebrates twice a year, on February 2nd and on the weekend of the Holy Spirit (movable festival, usually in June). In fact, on the festival of the Holy Spirit, there is a large celebration with traditional dancing on the yard outside the monastery.